Hockeyroos beat US 3-0 in last game

Hockeyroos goal keeper Rachael Lynch saved everything the USA could throw at her to lead Australia to a 3-0 win in the final match of a three-game series on the Sunshine Coast on Sunday night.

The Australian women fired from the outset, something Hockeyroos Coach Adam Commens said was a key focus after they had lost the opening two games.

“In the first two matches we came out strong in the second half, so we spoke about wanting to get off to a good start and we certainly did that tonight,” he said.

Striker Emily Hurtz opened the scoring with a well executed penalty corner drag flick in the 12th minute and three minutes later Claire Messent sent home a field goal.

“There has been at least three players who have been a little down in other series but tonight they put their hand up and made our task that much more difficult to select teams going forward,” Commens said.

“Rachael Lynch is an experienced keeper and we expect those type of performances from her week in, week out.”

USA coach Lee Bodimeade said although he was pleased with the series win, when the Hockeyroos scored two goals in quick succession it meant his girls had to play catch up.

“Our ability to close down Australia’s midfield let us down tonight.” he said.

“On any given day you have to be on your game or a top 10 team will punish you.”

Striker Jade Close sent home a penalty corner rebound to round out the scoring in the 38th minute.

The Hockeyroos travel to New Zealand to compete in a four-nation series next week.

Senior players including Captain Madonna Blyth, Casey Eastham and Kobie McGurk, who were rested for the Sunshine Coast tournament, will re-join the group to take on the USA, NZ and India.

Commens said the whole squad had worked hard and put their hands up, which made the selection process difficult.

Australia squad to face the USA in the first match of the series on April 12: Teneal Attard (QLD), Madonna Blyth (QLD), Fiona Boyce (WA), Jade Close (NSW), Toni Cronk (NSW) GK, Casey Eastham (NSW), Anna Flanagan (ACT), Jordyn Holzberger (QLD), Kobie McGurk (WA), Hope Munro (WA), Georgia Nanscawen (VIC), Ashleigh Nelson (WA), Megan Rivers (NSW), Jodie Schulz (QLD), Emily Smith (NSW), Jayde Taylor (WA), Jade Warrender (NSW), Ashlee Wells(VIC) GK.